Trump expands curbs on legal immigration from six more countries

Donald Trump is expanding curbs on legal immigration from six additional countries that officials have said do not meet security standards.

The move comes as a part of an election-year push to further restrict immigration.

Trump administration officials announced on Friday that immigrants from Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Eritrea, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania will face new restrictions in obtaining certain visas to visit the United States.

The move is not a total travel ban, unlike an earlier effort from President Trump that caused outrage around the world from people who believed it unfairly targeted Muslims.

Immigrant visas have been restricted for Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Eritrea and Nigeria.

Mark Gibson

Graduates in Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois 1990. Move to Los Angeles California in 2004. Specialized in Internet journalism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *